RSS

Painsomnia

05 Sep

I find that I lay here again not able to sleep because of one pain or the other. Tonight’s fiasco? Radiating arm pain. Now, most of you might be thinking… “well if the pain is so bad why are you typing?” Well, ordinarily I wouldn’t be doing this. My computer almost never enters the bed with me. However, due to the fact that I needed better technology to read journal articles I fell into the trap of buying an iPad. This allows me write whenever I need or want to. Also, as most of you know, we can always find the otherwise elusive energy to complain about the pain whenever we want to. This is something that I’ve tried to avoid, but sometimes when you lay here unable to sleep, that little bit of complaining (that which masks self loathing) is just what the doctor ordered. It may not help me to fall asleep but it helps me to know that others are in this same predicament. If you don’t believe me just search Twitter for #painsomnia. There are many more like us that cannot fall asleep because of some sort of pain. I somehow feel that there should be a late night support group for us. Either an online group to chat about this or something akin to a 1-800 number for people to chat until sleepy. I wonder if something like this exists and if not whether it would be beneficial to any of us. A poll should be devised and a plan set into motion. Thoughts?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 5, 2011 in Pain - 'somnia, Pain - Physical

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
